• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

“I ski blacks”

silverback

Talking a lot about less and less
Skier
Is there a bigger “tell” than when someone describes their skiing this way? Here on skitalk or elsewhere the minute I hear/read “I ski blacks and double blacks ” I automatically assume they ski like on of these:

IMG_4183.jpeg

Is the point of this whole thing to have enough guts, stupidity or skill to be able to survive a side slip down a steep hill?

Not to mention that a Snowbird or Jackson Hole blue would be a double black at a NY bump.

When I tell tourists on the chair I ski 5-6 days/week or that I’ve been skiing for almost 50 years, the response is often “wow, you must only ski blacks”. When I tell them “I’ve been doing laps on that empty green over there”. They look both confused and shocked.

Last edited:

scott43

So much better than a pro
Skier
When I was doing motorcycle stuff the better riders never engaged with average folks. It was more of an uneducated big dick contest down there. At the higher levels there is an entirely different knowledge and understanding level. It takes a long time to unpack misinformation that some people have. And there is little reward in it.

Tony Storaro

Glorified Tobogganer
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter
Is there a bigger “tell” than when someone describes their skiing this way? Here on skitalk or elsewhere the minute I hear/read “I ski blacks and double blacks ” I automatically assume they ski like on of these:

View attachment 216289

Is the point of this whole thing to have enough guts, stupidity or skill to be able to survive a side slip down a steep hill?

Not to mention that a Snowbird or Jackson Hole blue would be a double black at a NY bump.