• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

2019 Tour de France

NZRob

Skiing the Rock
Skier
My first thought was a thread for picking who is going to win....but then this can just be a dumping ground for all discussion about this years event.

Getting all sentimental I'd love to see Quintana win...but it seems like his best days are in the past and in reality it's hard to look past Thomas or Bernal, especially with the weight of Ineos behind them. Definitely more open without Froome though.

scott43

So much better than a pro
Skier
I just read a bit on Quintana..basically saying he can't win because you can't just keep riding at 10,000' and above because you never peak and your body compensates. I'm no physiology expert so I'm just quoting and not lending any credence to it.

I thought the route was odd this year. Also, no TT near the end, just big mountains then Paris. Could be an explosive penultimate day..

As for favourites, who knows. I think it's Thomas' to lose.. Can Porte step it up? Maybe.. Anything can happen though..one bad day on a climb with no support..can crush you..especially when the second to last stage is a beaut...

TS
NZRob

NZRob

Skiing the Rock
Skier
I reckon it's either Thomas or Bernal....the current commentary seems to be swinging Bernal's way.

Three great stages so far. Alaphilippe was awesome this morning.

Oh and let's not forget a New Zealander currently in 4th :)

Erik Timmerman

Instructor
I'm hoping it's a French this year. Or the runner from Canada - well, I'd at least like to see him get a win. Just not a Sky win or Astana, screw those guys.

TS
NZRob

NZRob

Skiing the Rock
Skier