• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

2021 Heated Gloves Comparisons--Black Diamond v. OR v. Lenz v. Hestra v. Sierus v. Chaval

Cantankerous

Putting on skis
Skier
Hello,

I am hoping to buy a pair of heated gloves this year--and I'm hopeful to hear from any one with recent experience with any of the above. I have read some of the past posts--some of which date back to 2015--and I know some of the gloves have been updated in the past few years. If any one has direct experience with one brand versus another brand--that would be ideal...

I was interested in the OR Capstone...

BTW--like a lot of folks here--I have Raynaud's--mittens do the trick most of the time--but I'd like to see how the heated gloves work...

Thank you!

David Chaus

Beyond Help
Skier
Team Gathermeister
SkiTalk Supporter
I have some experience to share. I’m a diabetic who has always experienced cold hands and feet, however my endocrinologist noted that with my control with the diabetes, it’s likely Raynaud’s for me as well.

Regardless I’ve tried several solutions over the years.

I have the OR Capstone gloves (after first trying the Lucent gloves, then mittens). The Capstones definitely produce more heat than anything else on the market, simply a function of having 2 batteries per glove. This makes them a bit more bulky, but then I’ve used them for several years so I’ve gotten used to it. I usually keep a backup set of batteries in my boot bag if I really need it.

My pro tip is to use a shell (I use the OR Revell shell mitts) over the gloves when it’s wet, or the removable shells from my old Black Diamond Mercury Mitts when it’s colder, as the leather is thicker and seems to insulate better, though get soaked with rain or wet snow. It it warms up enough, or I get warmed up enough, I’ll removed the shells and stuff them in my jacket pockets, where I have them available if I need again.