• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Alpine-Touring hybrid setup

AlpedHuez

Chasing that Odermatt form
Skier
I have no experience in backcountry/touring skiing, but as an expert experienced alpine skier, I am intrigued by the range of hybrid bindings to expand my horizons beyond the downhill options at the resort. I am based in UK, so I don't have local mountains to drive and hike to - this exercise would be solely for uphill terrain accessible in a European resort setting.

Between the Shift and the new Marker Duke PT, I am more intrigued by the Duke PT (12 not 16 would suit just fine). The widest ski I have is the 19/20 Mantra M5 @ 96 underfoot, and I mounted a Griffon on that. I was considering snapping up a Rustler 10 or 11, if anyone wants to advise on either's suitability for touring use. Another option could be the new Volkl Blaze or the Black Crows Justis.

For a hybrid boot, I was looking at the Nordica Strider 130 Pro DYN.

Bottom line, I want a setup that is not biased to the backcountry or out-of-bounds touring, but feels right at home and uncompromising in-bounds at the resort.

Last edited:

Choucas

Getting off the lift
Skier
If you are only going uphill in resort in the Alps, it really doesn’t matter. All of your suggestions would work fine and have a very traditional alpine ski/boot/binding kind of feel. Quite heavy on the up, but comfortable on the down part. You might consider just getting boots and renting the skis & skins in resort. Less to haul around, particularly if you are also bringing your Mantras and your alpine boots. If you’ve never done this before, I’d strongly suggest going out with a guide or instructor the first few times. You can rent the safety gear, shovel,probe, transceiver, ski crampons, pack. You will learn a lot and it will be much more enjoyable, not to mention safer.

Mattadvproject

Love that powder!
Industry Insider