• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Article: Why it's difficult to get detailed information when skiers die at California resorts

KingGrump

Most Interesting Man In The World
Team Gathermeister
SkiTalk Supporter
LOLOLOL. Resorts reporting injures and deaths does not mean people are coming to take away your skis. When did this forum become so nutty?
Get a grip people.

"I am from the government and I am here to help you." That belongs up there with "Check is in the mail" and "My wife doesn't understand me.

It seems some here don't have much dealing with the government. In actuality, all of us do. The two things consistent in life is death and taxes. The way science is going, we may be able to eliminate death somewhere down the road.

I was a outside contractor for government agencies for decades. The regulations are pervasive and ever growing in numbers and complexity. I recalled an incidence couple decades back with one of the agency we were doing work for. My company had to file a certification package with that specific agency at regular intervals. The certification form is 28 pages. The certification lasts two years and takes six months to process. The agency decided to simplify the form and process. The new simplified form is 58 pages. The certification process takes way longer than before.

But hey, why not give them a chance and see what they can screw up.

Last edited by a moderator:

Kneale Brownson

Making fresh tracks forever on the other side
Instructor
Thanks for that. The article says he did an inadvertent back flip, landed on his chest and burst his aorta.
I would say that's on him.

Note to self: don't land jumps on chest. (I'll add this to my previous note about not skiing on face.)