• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Avalanche Litigation -- and the CAIC

Mike King

AKA Habacomike
Instructor
Interesting set of issues. The real rub? Will sharing information with the avalanche center become a source of liability? That would be a big impediment to learning from accidents.

doc

Out on the slopes
Skier
I'm a lawyer, and I really dislike most lawyers, especially PI litigators. That said, this is a very well pled complaint, and reflects substantial education on the part of somebody.
The way our legal system is set up can frequently discourage learning from accidents/incidents, as that learning often involves admissions by parties who, by such admissions, become culpable.
To me, and I'm not intending to disparage Mr. Marshall's heirs, this case falls in the general category of sh*t happens so get over it except, perhaps, if allegations of defects in the avalanche air bag are proved up.
PS: I really like the way the Colorado Sun does its reporting.

scott43

So much better than a pro
Skier
My department presides over a great deal of data and information. We have near weekly discussions on dissemination vs litigation. 98% of people are happy to help but it's the 2% who are seemingly in business to profit off of obscure errors who ruin it for everyone.

Slim

Making fresh tracks
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter
I have heard research from other industries, it has been shown that those have a culture of sharing and owning up to errors and mistakes, and then discussing them and learning from them, have better outcomes as a whole.

So this seems to be a case where being right in the short term, doesn’t help the greater good in the long term.

I also worry how, if this lawsuit succeeds, avalanche schools and backcountry guides will be able to operate.