• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Battery power for my edge grinder

Dave Marshak

All Time World Champion
Skier
I've been using a Swix EVO edge grinder for a couple of years, but the power cord wrangling is the last wasted motion on the whole tuning process. So I decided to power it with a 20v Li-Ion drill battery. I just was going to add a plug to the battery but I found an adapter for the battery. Apparently people use these batteries to power kid's cars. I also added a 5 amp fuse inside the adapter because I don't know if the battery protection will work with the barrel jack connection.

IMG_0508.jpg

This is what it looks like all assembled:
IMG_0509.jpg

It works perfectly. The battery isn't too heavy to affect the balance much, and there's no cord to trip over. The tool draws 4 amps, and the battery holds 1.5Ah, so it should last at least 20 minutes, which is enough to do 10 pairs of skis or more. Probably not enough to last the whole season, but more than enough for me.

dm

Tony S

I have a confusion to make ...
Skier
Team Gathermeister
SkiTalk Supporter
I've been using a Swix EVO edge grinder for a couple of years, but the power cord wrangling is the last wasted motion on the whole tuning process. So I decided to power it with a 20v Li-Ion drill battery. I just was going to add a plug to the battery but I found an adapter for the battery. Apparently people use these batteries to power kid's cars. I also added a 5 amp fuse inside the adapter because I don't know if the battery protection will work with the barrel jack connection.

View attachment 135509
This is what it looks like all assembled:
View attachment 135510