• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Beginner skis and info on diy ski tuning

Dixie Flatline

Booting up
Skier
I'm new to skiing and have 4 kids who are also new. We have been skiing 2 years and are just starting to take green and blue runs.

Because the kids are close in age, I should be able to hand down the skis from kid to kid. But that means I need to maintain them for probably 5 years, and I have NO idea what ski maintenance even is. I'm trying to determine how much I should learn to maintain skis myself or if I should just drop them off at the shop every year. I don't relish learning another hobby "job", but I work on my own bikes, etc. so I should probably learn to work on skis.

Are there any good YouTube videos that explain ski maintenance? For biking, Park Tool videos are really good for bike maintenance. I'm looking for the equivalent type of video for skiing. With emphasis on not just how to do things, but understanding why I need to do it or how often I need to do it, etc.

Finally, these are the skis that my local shop sold me. Do these seem reasonable for a 6-foot, 190lb beginner, and should I be looking for anything different? We mostly ski Bogus Basin and Brundage in whatever the conditions are at the time...

Attachments

• PXL_20221122_153743652.jpg
    PXL_20221122_153743652.jpg
    218.5 KB · Views: 34

Jilly

Lead Cougar
Skier
Belleville, Ontario,/ Mont Tremblant, Quebec
Before anyone else asks.....boots!! Boots are the most important piece of equipment. Get fitted at a reputable fitter....not a box store.

As for the Salomon's, picture of the binding please.

Tuning - I'm sure that Toko has You tube video's for enjoyment.

KingGrump

Most Interesting Man In The World
Team Gathermeister
SkiTalk Supporter
As Jilly said, boots, boots, boots.

Drop them off at the shop before start of the season to get them back to square one.