• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Can you over brush your bases by hand?

Jack Lake

Putting on skis
Skier
Ive been tuning and waxing for several years and have always gone by the mantra, the more base brushing the better. No more white flakes or areas of visible wax and I'm good to go. Always glide past most on the slopes and rewax every couple of days during the season. Without a rotobrush, can you really over brush?

raytseng

Making fresh tracks
Skier
I think you need to include with what brushhair material?
With steel or the very aggressive brushes you risk brushing off even the thin boundary layer of wax you spent applying, and negating your wax job

Jacques

Workin' It on Skis Best I Can
Skier
Ive been tuning and waxing for several years and have always gone by the mantra, the more base brushing the better. No more white flakes or areas of visible wax and I'm good to go. Always glide past most on the slopes and rewax every couple of days during the season. Without a rotobrush, can you really over brush?
As long as you are not using a super stiff stainless steel, I'd say no.
I am a proponent of hand brushing. Best way to brush by me. You just don't need a roto.
If you think you are over brushing by hand see this video.

NE1

Getting on the lift
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter
As others have stated, other than a stiff steel brush, I can't imagine harm from excessive brushing. The more the better. (Over Roto-Corking...different story.)
Brush to Rush! (tm)

TS
Jack Lake

Jack Lake

Putting on skis
Skier