• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Do I have to carve?

Status
Not open for further replies.

slow yeti

Booting up
Skier
Hi everyone!

Newbie here, both to this forum and also mostly to skiing. After a couple of questionably successful days on skis as a teenager, I (now 37) tried again this year and got a couple of days in in the late season in the Austrian alps. Couple hours with an instructor, then going down blue and red (European rating) groomers with vaguely parallel skis ;)

I'm not the fastest learner when it comes to movements and coordination, but I enjoy skiing. I'm not interested in being super fast. I just want to have fun and feel like I'm in control of my movements.

So I am wondering now:

- Do I *have* to aspire to "carve"? It feels like all instructions, both online and with the (3) instructors I had, were: learn snowplow, then go vaguely parallel, and then edge edge edge and bend your knees in ways that make me worried about my tendons. I'm exaggerating of course, but I'm a little confused by the apparent lack of other techniques? Is there anything else still?

- If I'm staying on groomers, is there ever a reason *not* to use a narrower (up to 80mm) "carving" ski? Are those always easier to turn than wider skis or could a wider ski actually be more fun on groomed runs?

Thanks a ton!

Tony S

I have a confusion to make ...
Skier
Team Gathermeister
SkiTalk Supporter
then edge edge edge and bend your knees in ways that make me worried about my tendons
That made me chuckle. Wait 'til you're actually old like many of us here!

I enjoy skiing
Well that's really all there is to know. Keep doing it if you enjoy it.

No, you don't have to aspire to carving or any other particular skiing skill. Maybe, for example, skiing for you is a great way to access amazing scenery and take lots of nice photos and get some fresh air and exercise.