• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Dynastar M-Free 118 vs QST Blank

elerre97

In the parking lot (formerly "At the base lodge")
Skier
Hey! I currently have two deals at similar prices including the Dynastar M-Free 118 in 189cm and the QST Blank in the 194cm size (only this size).

I'm looking to complete my quiver with a powder ski which I'll basically use any day where 4+ inches have fallen. I'm an expert, strong, hard-charging directional skier. Although I like to go fast, I only ski inbounds meaning that a lot of times wide-open bowls are tracked out after the second run so I'd like to have the possibility of skiing through trees and tight chutes with ease.

I'm 5'8 and around 200 pounds.

Any tips on which to pick?

Philpug

Notorious P.U.G.
Admin
SkiTalk Tester
I haven't skied the M-Free 118 but have skied the 108 and also the Blank. Charging hard, the Dynstar has a but more power but at 118 you will lose some versatility... how many times do you get to ski enough snow for a 118? The Blank has a shorter radius and will be a tad more playful, bit that doesn't sound like what you are looking for.

TS
E

elerre97

Skier
I mostly ski the I-70 corridor in Colorado, so suppose not enough deep days? Would you recommend going for either the QST or something else in the 108-112 range? I'm just afraid that the 194 Blanks might be a bit long for me hence hard to turn at slow speeds although I skied the 191 Enforcer 110 (I suppose a demanding ski?) and enjoyed them.

My quiver would consist on this ski and a Vantage 97ti as a daily driver.

Last edited:

Philpug

Notorious P.U.G.
Admin
SkiTalk Tester