• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Andy Mink

Everyone loves spring skiing but not in January
SkiTalk Tester
SkiTalk Supporter
VideoCapture_20210817-182924.jpg

It's no secret that I'm a newbie mountain biker, or might as well be. My last bike was an early '90s Specialized Rockhopper with no suspension. That bike spent more time on the road than the trails so, technically, I had an early gravel bike. Fast forward to 2021 when I bought a Cannondale Habit Neo 2 from @Tricia. Yes, it is overkill for my skills. Yes, it's an e-assist but I argue that the only thing getting cheated is my couch; I'm getting out and spinning the pedals (because if the pedals don't turn, the bike doesn't move!).

I started riding it with a pair of Adidas Terrex trail runners because, well, that's what was in the closet. Other than some dedicated hiking boots, the Terrex had the stiffest footbed I owned. They served me well as I got used to all the niceties that come with a bike from this century. As trails got harder and confidence got higher I was coming off the pedals more often and, in some cases, to a painful end. It was time to step up to function-specific footwear.

@Philpug, @Tricia, and I travelled to Auburn, CA for a summer buyers gathering where reps for various brands met with buyers from stores. While there, I met Chris from NCPsales and he showed me some of the Etnies products and offered a pair for review. I gladly took him up on the offer with the understanding I wouldn't have any other true MTB shoes with which to compare the Culvert MTB.

20210817_170815.jpg

The Etnies Culvert MTB shoe is a purpose built MTB tool

On to the review.