• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Expanding the Quiver 2021 (Midwest/West, second time ski-buyer recommendations)

smokeythedog

Booting up
Skier
I'm moving to Denver for 18 months to fulfill my dream of skiing a full season in Colorado (shoutout online college/Covid), and looking to expand the quiver!

Most of my skiing is in the Midwest, and I've skied a 2013 Volkl RTM 84 (full-rocker) since I was 14. I have sent them through the ringer, but it's the only ski I've ever ridden besides rentals. I'm going to be replacing those after 6-7 seasons of skiing, and adding another pair to have more options to ski. I'm looking for a frontside 'all-mountain' carving ski, as well as a wide ski that can handle a vast amount of terrain. I love skiing hard, and I'm new to the ski lingo but I think I'm looking for something with a good mix off stiffness and dampness.

Skis I'm considering are Volkl Deacon 76 or 84, K2 Disruption 82ti, Head Kore 93/99, Nordica Enforcer 94/100/104, Stockli Laser AX/AR, and the Blizzard Rustler 9/10 (open to suggestions too!). My experience with the RTM 84 has been great, it's a ripper and I does fine in soft snow and ice in the midwest.

I'm questioning whether I should go with a fatter carving ski (Deacon 84, Disruption 82ti, Laser AR) that can act as an all-mountain in the midwest, or go smaller under the waist for a true on-piste carver?

I'd also love to hear some opinions on the wider skis I mentioned. I'm especially curious on the differences between the Enforcer 93/100/104 and Rustler 9/10. What widths will get me decent performance on hard pack but still be able to handle a powder dump? Which skis are better for hard charging, or have a good mixture of speed and playfulness? Out of both ski categories, which one would I be skiing the most out West?

Ogg

Skiing the powder
Skier