• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

FAA approved travel cases for skis

myates1986

In the parking lot (formerly "At the base lodge")
Skier
I'll be flying commercial with my skis for the first time in January. My local ski shop recommended these hard shell adjustable travel tubes for transport. They look great for what I need, however they cost more than what I was hoping to spend. Wanted to ask a few questions:

1.) Is there a general preference for soft or hard shell cases for air travel?
2.) Are the bindings at more of risk for being compromised or damaged with a soft shell case?
3.) Does being FAA approved significantly increase the price of either style case?

I'm new to this so thanks in advance for all advice and direction.

Crank

Making fresh tracks
Skier
I see about 100 soft cases for every hard shell when I travel.

Get one with wheels... Unless this is just a one-time thing. In that case get the cheapest sleeve you can find.

PS. There are plenty of threads about ski bags somewhere around here.

TS
M

myates1986

Skier
I see about 100 soft cases for every hard shell when I travel.

Get one with wheels... Unless this is just a one-time thing. In that case get the cheapest sleeve you can find.

PS. There are plenty of threads about ski bags somewhere around here.

Thank you

Philpug

Notorious P.U.G.
Admin
SkiTalk Tester
While hard cases are great in theory, they aare heavy (you are allowed 50lb and some of these are close to 20lb) and they are tough to pack. One of our favorites...

scott43

So much better than a pro
Skier
I've always used soft shell, no troubles. I wrap my skiis in fleeces and underwear to try to prevent damage. I think airlines even specifically state no soft shells but I think it's mostly for damage reasons. I've never been questioned on it.

Reactions: BMC

Seldomski

All words are made up
Skier