• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Finally grew the PNW quiver – which one to take touring?

Lebowski

Putting on skis
Skier
Just orderd a pair of closeout 189 QST 106’s to complement my formerly-quiver-of-one 193 Ripstick 116’s - that’s right, my quiver has grown a mighty twofold!

My plan is to mount the QST’s with alpine bindings (Strive 14’s most likely) to be my in-bounds, everyday Whistler ski. (40-50 days/year)

I was thinking I'd then replace the Attack 13 bindings on the Ripsticks with some Duke PT 12’s, and those would become my 80/20, deeper resort day/touring ski.

I realize the fat Ripsticks + Dukes would make for a girthy setup, but the Elans are actually ~150g per ski lighter than the QST’s, plus their squared-off tails would seem to be more skin-friendly.

I should also say: I’m new to touring, and I figure if I get really into it, I’ll undoubtedly do what everybody does and end up springing for a more dedicated setup down the road.

All that to say: before I pull the trigger on two new sets of bindings (Strives & Dukes), would this setup make sense to you guys?

AngryAnalyst

Out on the slopes
Skier
How much do the Ripsticks weigh?

Any reason you want the Dukes instead of the Shift?

The biggest issue I see with the 116 as a primary touring ski is just stability on days that it makes sense to tour on a 116 underfoot ski, I don't know if that's a big deal where you are or not. The usual reasons people are more willing to use AT bindings on powder skis are less relevant IMHO on Dukes.

James

Out There
Instructor
If you’re rough on gear, get the Duke over the Shift. If you switch boot styles- alpine vs touring or grip walk, etc get the Duke.

TS
L

Lebowski

Putting on skis
Skier
How much do the Ripsticks weigh?

Any reason you want the Dukes instead of the Shift?