• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Going all SPD, all the time, on all bikes

martyg

Making fresh tracks
Industry Insider
With awesome shoes like Specialized’s Recon and Xpedo’s Ti M Force 8 pedal, there is no reason not to.

2458C698-5D41-445C-83F1-3E5373765E08.jpeg
C862E135-C4B4-453C-8DED-F2DE63E954FA.jpeg

scott43

So much better than a pro
Skier
I dunno I've been doing it for fifteen years. Some people complain about the platform etc but I guess I'm just not pro enough.. :huh:

Tom K.

Skier Ordinaire
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter
I've been all SPD since I sold my "real" road bike two years ago.

Last week we did a 140 miler on paved roads, so I put slicks and Speedplays on the gravel bike and.....I was glad I did!

But the SPDs are back on the bike now. You don't want to have to do any walking on a gravel road in Speedplay cleats.

Philpug

Notorious P.U.G.
Admin
SkiTalk Tester
I wsa a huge fan of SPD, I started back in the mid 90's and used them until 2 years ago out here. There is terrain I do miss them and am temped to put them back on...maybe I will play with them again this summer...it's not like I don't have the time.

Ski&ride

Out on the slopes
Pass Pulled
I dunno I've been doing it for fifteen years. Some people complain about the platform etc but I guess I'm just not pro enough.. :huh:
Same here.

Though a few years back, I switched out one of them SPD with a pair of flat downhill pedals on my dualie, which is dedicated for technical terrains (which I don”t do all that often).

Allows me to get more of the same shoe, different colors, so that I feel pretty. :)
I’m not sure it’s a real “saving”. Even though shoes last a long time, eventually they do wear out, especially the mountain bike one. Having two pairs of shoes simply means they last twice as long. :ogbiggrin:

scott43

Skier
Whoa the way back machine... :ogbiggrin: