• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Good Universal Wax - Hertel? Or something else?

Eagle93

Putting on skis
Skier
I'm nearing the end of a bar of Hertel Super Hot Sauce which is the wax I've been using for the last 4-5 years. I use it for everything, including an unscraped storage layer before putting the skis away for the summer. Before buying another bar of Hertel, I thought I'd check-in and see if there is anything new on the market I'm unaware of.

I typically only get a half dozen or so days on snow per year and wax my skis 2-3 times at most. Usually one trip out west per year and then a few days on a local bump in MN with much harder/icier snow. Given the low number of skier days, a universal, all-temp, wax is appealing to me for simplicity's sake. Something that provides decent performance in a potential early season, 100% manmade snow day in MN, Colorado powder, and a potential refreeze to slush day in the MN spring. In my experience, Hertel works pretty well across the board.

Anything you recommend that as a better choice than Hertel?

bbinder

Making fresh tracks
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter
I have been using the Hertel Super Sauce for many years in all conditions (approx. 30 days per year) and have been happy with it.

Wilhelmson

Making fresh tracks
Skier
If you want to experiment, try some swix green for the cold days in MN. It's a pita to scrape but definitely hold up better. You could get 6 full days out of it and just get a quick wax in CO if it's not working for you.

oldfashoned

Out on the slopes
Skier
Purl Ski/Snowboard Wax All temp 1Lb Block
Still working on the same block for a few years. I wouldn’t say it’s any better than Hertel but easier to do the crayon method with

Henry

Out on the slopes
Skier