• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Help me correct my technique (slight A frame)

TS
D

Don Boyajian

Booting up
Skier
With what? Did you watch the other clips and conclude that none of them are good dynamic skiing?
I won't be offended. For the most part, I tried to include clips with my roughest skiing on purpose. Most of these clips are after 2-5 hours of skinning/climbing, in a variety of conditions on light gear. I'm a self taught skier - never raced, took lessons, etc...just been skiing since I was very young - so I'm sure I've developed quite a few bad habits along the way (which I'm hoping to improve upon).

Rdputnam515

Getting off the lift
Skier
Yeah, was thinking fore/aft could be off, making her pedal too much. Without more info, worth trying :thumb:

I'll disagree.

One time is fine, couple times it's fine. In every turn to overshoot a bit - ok, technique maybe. But in pretty much each and every turn to end up jammed so far on the cuff like this, on even a simple soft slow run like this one?

View attachment 154141
That's not fine. This dude has skied a lot of backcountry and he's fairly competent at it. To know and be aware that he can't release the skis, he must have tried adjusting a bunch of things and didn't work.

Who else has a cuff that folds so easily and drives your knee in like that in a slow soft turn?

OP - this is a fairly big stretch of the Achilles tendon:

View attachment 154142

P.S. The technique advice is all fine and would definitely improve the skiing - but I would still take a hard look at the equipment issues I mentioned. @Noodler gave a simple solution to try as well... and I added a simple test to gauge the setup.

:toast
Took her to the shop and the alignment was crap. They aligned them properly and we will go from there. If she still has issues I will check out heel lift options and gleen more info from you all

TS
D

Don Boyajian

Booting up
Skier