• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

hi from italy

cloudymind

Booting up
Skier
hello
i'm an amateur skier, i started when i was a child (long time ago), took many lessons but not with the results i had hoped for.
i average no more than 15-20 days per year and i enjoy each of those but only in recent times i started being interested in the differences between the various models of skis on the market.

i started using the old classic long skiis, then i used some entry level to learn the modern technique. later upgraded to a pair of elan "racecarve" really easy, but somehow i never fully liked them.
many times i have rented skis or borrowed from friends.
i finally tested and fell in love with head GSRD, i left my elan to the skirental and took as exchange both the gsrd 25 meters and a pair of older 27 meters head gsrd.
i definitively improved my skills the 27 meter is still a bit too demanding for my level but i really enjoyed the 25m, infact the blade is thin now and i will probably need a new ski at the end of the season.
will see...

TS
C

cloudymind

Booting up
Skier
i live in lombardy (northen italy), i often have to ski at the nearest resorts due to time constraints. but sometimes i manage to go sestriere or cervinia-breil (love the swiss part but hard to find the time), la thuile and fench side. in recent years i was able to spend a few days in livigno and also on eastern alps near cortina.
when was younger my parents used to rent a house in avoriaz on the french alps for the entire season.

TS
C

cloudymind

Booting up
Skier
Interesting. What do you like about it?
it's a very big resort that extends to oulux, claviere etc...
sestrier itself is like the ugliest mountain town i ever saw but quite cheap off-season because most of the tourists are locals, the black runs are not bad at all. also i paid 38 or 40€ for day ticket.