• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Brock Tice

Out on the slopes
Skier
I am an expert downhill skier (in top difficulty locals clinic at Taos Ski Valley, etc) and I know there are options in my area (Lake Fork Peak for example) for backcountry skiing. I also know there is at least one group here in northern New Mexico that does backcountry skiing classes. I am comfortable hiking uphill in boots, and have hiked the ridges and Kachina Peak at Taos Ski Valley many times. I'm in good aerobic shape as I do a lot of endurance cycling.

I am a bit baffled at how to get started in AT and backcountry skiing without dropping boatloads of money on equipment and instruction up front.

Is there someplace in the west/southwest, say Utah, Colorado, and New Mexico, where I can go and get instruction and equipment rentals? How else could I get started dabbling in this type of skiing?

ScottB

Making fresh tracks
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter
Good question, Brock. I am just starting myself this season. I am an expert downhill skier like you, probably not in as good as shape, I didn't bike much this summer. I have a friend who has been doing it at resorts for a few years, so I had him show me all his gear and I learned a lot from his trials and tribulations. I read a lot on line. I also found a few resorts in NE that rent the gear and have classes and and organized tours. I did drop a lot of money on my setup (about $2K), I would advise used gear to save money. I bought boots that I will use for race team coaching, and my skis should work for 50/50 skiing. But I have plenty of downhill skis without this set up, so I just dropped a lot of money, no matter how I might want to look at it.

The only real tip I can give is get some "frame bindings" and put them on a light'ish downhill ski and skins. That will allow you to try it out and work fine for shorter distances.