• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Interesting article about current lawsuit regarding slide above Eisenhower Tunnel

Ken_R

Living the Dream
Skier
Yup. Lesson learned from their mistakes: don't report, don't provide any evidence, make use of your constitutional right not to incriminate yourself and just stfu. It's a legal system; not a justice system.

Its sad but you are correct

Tricia

The Velvet Hammer
Admin
SkiTalk Tester
Seems like this just leaves all the important questions unanswered, and doesn’t really change anything about the optics of the case.

What were the charges they plead to? Why did this become a criminal issue in the first place? Right now, most of what I’m seeing is a whole bunch of reasons for Colorado skiers not to report avalanches and especially not to provide any evidence to the CAIC, and that’s not good.

Since I’m not a legal expert, my instinct would also be to apply any lessons from this case to other states and reporting centers as well.
I kind of agree with you. I would like to have heard what they had to say.

Nobody

Out of my mind, back in five.
Skier
Very interesting reading, enlightning too.
Can't resist and say that here in Italy, any slide, be it dirt or snow, triggered by humans or happening as a consequence of human activities, is a criminale offende and lible to charging with, to say the least 'reckless behavoiur leasing to lives endangerment". Even if it were to occour i the middle of friggin' nowhere and hardened no one.