• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Individual Review Laser AX - Impressions from a new user

Jean-Benoit

Putting on skis
Skier
After reading everything I could on Stockli Laser AXs from many of the enlightened skiers on these forums, I finally bought them (in 175).

I had seriously considered Head Rallys, but when I was offered a decent price on the Lasers, I couldn't pass 'em up.

I thought I'd throw in a few brief early impressions of my first time on them, yesterday on machine groomed/hardpack/ice.

This is my first time skiing on a "premium" ski, after getting back into skiing a few years ago and briefly owning: Salomon X-Drives 8.0 (175), Volkl Codes (174), Blizzard Brahmas (180), Blossom White Outs (182). I'm an East Coast skier, mostly skiing Quebec and Vermont, 15-20 days a year. Advanced skier, 6'6", 200lbs.

My first impressions of this ski came as two words : "wow", shortly followed by "woah".
Wow, as in: wow, this is sooo much fun. There's life and flow to those skis.
Woah, as in: woah, they are powerful, too! I can push as much as I want, they hold and respond. To echo what @dawgcatching wrote, they are very, very stable (how much more stable than the previous iteration I wouldn't know). Actually more stable than the 2018 Brahmas I owned right before them (and god knows the Brahmas are not exactly unstable). I haven't tried Super G speeds, but I'm a fast skier, and these things GO. Even at my height/weight, I never once felt that I was even close to overpowering them. And yet, as I said, they manage to combine that stability with *life*. Great stuff.

Big bonus for me is how quiet they are: as I'd mentioned in a previous thread, noisy, hollow-sounding skis detract from my skiing pleasure.