• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Liberty Origin or Armada Tracer

gtmmisc

In the parking lot (formerly "At the base lodge")
Skier
I'm debating between the Liberty Origin and the Armada Tracer 98 as a one quiver ski. I'm an expert skier but do not like going fast on groomers (but want to keep up with the speed demons in my group). I ski all conditions and terrain, including tight trees, chutes, bumps, glades, and crud to powder. I live in Florida and do 2-3 trips out west and will do a few hikes off the lift. I like the idea of a lighter ski that I can whip around, but need to be able to hold an ice edge in a steep chute. Any recommendation? I'm 190 pounds and 5'11". I'm debating the Origin 96 or 102 in sizes 176 or 182, and the Armada 98 in size 180. I've found both of these ski's (2021/22 model) with bindings under $500.

GregK

Skiing the powder
Skier
I'm debating between the Liberty Origin and the Armada Tracer 98 as a one quiver ski. I'm an expert skier but do not like going fast on groomers (but want to keep up with the speed demons in my group). I ski all conditions and terrain, including tight trees, chutes, bumps, glades, and crud to powder. I live in Florida and do 2-3 trips out west and will do a few hikes off the lift. I like the idea of a lighter ski that I can whip around, but need to be able to hold an ice edge in a steep chute. Any recommendation? I'm 190 pounds and 5'11". I'm debating the Origin 96 or 102 in sizes 176 or 182, and the Armada 98 in size 180. I've found both of these ski's (2021/22 model) with bindings under $500.