• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Loss of feeling in outside of foot(boot too small or need adjustments)?

CraigH

Booting up
Skier
First let me start out by saying this isn’t your normal “is my boot too small” post. I know how boots are supposed to fit. I’ve been skiing for many years(albeit only 1 trip a year most of the time).
Back in 2018 I went to Jackson Hole and got fitted for boots by Matt Sheets based on tons of glowing reviews. He only had 1 boot in my size: A Lange RS 130. I loved the way it fit! Perfectly snug and cupping my heel and calf just right. I’m pretty small(5’3” 140lbs) and while in good shape; I only get to ski once per year, so I’m not in skiing shape. I was hesitant to get that boot because of the stiffness. Matt was nice enough to call the other shops and they only had one other boot in my size, a Nordica of some sort. I went and tried that on, but the fit of the Lange was just so much better I got that boot. He even knocked off $200! I like to ski challenging terrain, double blacks, bumps, glades, bowls, etc.. My ability exceeds my skiing-strength and I'm usually pretty rusty the first couple of days on a trip.

Fast forward to my trip to Big Sky this past March(2021) and I noticed my boots seemed a little harder to put on than normal. I was also losing feeling in the outside edges to about an inch inward of my feet, and they were getting cold more than normal. And I don’t mean falling asleep, I mean losing actual feeling. Ya know, how it feels if you go to touch a part of your body and the place you touch doesn’t register it? They weren’t overly tightened and the weather was pretty warm(20s to 40s). It took over 2 months for the feeling to come back to the outside edges of my feet after the trip. It affected my left foot more than my right foot, but both were still affected.

I can think of 2 causes: