• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Mounting Bindings with Paper Templates

crgildart

Gravity Slave
Skier
I couldn’t count how many. I worked in a shop for 5 years, certified by Marker and Salomon, and trained for a bunch of touring bindings. And I’ve mounted a whole bunch of alpine, touring, and tele bindings for friends at home since then. Even one or two people from this site. Never had a failure. Even corrected a couple bad mounts that other people did.

As I posted earlier I find a drill press makes it easier, faster, very accurate, and much less stressful for my home mounts. Maybe I’d be a little more pedantic if I’d worked in a shop longer?

Edit: Have you done many home mounts, @Uncle-A?
Agreed. If I had a nice drill press I'd 100% use it for mounting bindings.

Uncle-A

In the words of Paul Simon "You can call me Al"
Skier
I couldn’t count how many. I worked in a shop for 5 years, certified by Marker and Salomon, and trained for a bunch of touring bindings. And I’ve mounted a whole bunch of alpine, touring, and tele bindings for friends at home since then. Even one or two people from this site. Never had a failure. Even corrected a couple bad mounts that other people did.

As I posted earlier I find a drill press makes it easier, faster, very accurate, and much less stressful for my home mounts. Maybe I’d be a little more pedantic if I’d worked in a shop longer?

Edit: Have you done many home mounts, @Uncle-A?
Maybe in the triple digits of home mounting. All I can say for me there is no point in talking about this any longer. I have already said, for you the drill press is a good option. I will leave it at that.

Noodler

Sir Turn-a-lot
Skier
Do shop jigs correct for ‘curvature’ on the top of skis?