• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Need to update my Tahoe daily driver

walkerds

In the parking lot (formerly "At the base lodge")
Skier
Hello and thank you for the help!

I'm a California resident who typically skis in Tahoe. I had a run of 20+ day seasons from 2007-2017, but having young kids has kept me away from the slopes more recently. As they're getting of age to do some skiing, I'm excited to ramp up on my favorite sport again.

I have three pairs of skis still in use:
2010 Dynastar Legend Mythic Rider - 88 cm, my original attempt at an all mountain ski
2010 Fischer Watea 114 - powder ski
2014 Head Supershape Magnum - 72 cm, for carving practice and frontside days

I still have lots of fun on the Wateas in powder and the Magnums on groomers. However, I don't enjoy skiing the the Mythic Riders anymore. I'm not sure if my skiing changed, the ski wore out, or I grew out of them - but it doesn't hold an edge that well on the frontside (for me at least), doesn't feel as stable at high speeds, and is a narrow underfoot for today's idea of all-mountain ski.

After a little reading, I was considering demoing the 2023 versions of Mantra M6, Head Kore 99, and K2 Mindbender 99. I want something general purpose that is fun off-piste, in trees, and in moguls - but still allow some carving practice on the groomers.

Any recommendations on which skis to try and where I could demo them in Tahoe would be appreciated!

TS
W

walkerds

Skier
I'm 5' 11", 190 pounds if that info helps narrow down!

Philpug

Notorious P.U.G.
Admin
SkiTalk Tester
Where in Tahoe are you skiing? Ex: Northstar is a lot different than say Palisades or even Kirkwood.
After a little reading, I was considering demoing the 2023 versions of Mantra M6, Head Kore 99, and K2 Mindbender 99. I want something general purpose that is fun off-piste, in trees, and in moguls - but still allow some carving practice on the groomers.