• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Old School Straight Skiing Question.

obercski

In the parking lot (formerly "At the base lodge")
Skier
Hey everyone.
I have a few questions here. I’ve been skiing since I was 5. In the 80s. Learned in straight skis. Like everyone else I graduated to the shake skis in 2000s.

To tell you the truth they are just not as fun for me. I just love skiing in the old school form, legs together etc. I have sentimental reasons too.

So I decided to take two of my straights out of retirement. Rossi 4s and Rossi STS. Both 200cm.

My first question is what bindings should I get for them. I’m not risking skiing in the bj ding in them now.

My second question isthat I also want to buy a new pair of skis. But I want them to be as close to straights as possible and a pair that will allow me to ski old school style.

So far my searches have lead me to:

1. Folsom TRN TEK 201 CM https://www.folsomskis.com/product/trn-tek

2. Rossingol Hero FIS GS R21 WC 2018 200cm

3. Dynastar Twister

4. A black pair of Rossi’s the nave I can’t remember.

Any old school skiers have any suggestions?

Philpug

Notorious P.U.G.
Admin
SkiTalk Tester
I'll play. Most any race bindings for the straight skis or ideally a good throwback will be a Look Pivot 15 in the Raw with the 75mm brake.

The strightest thing you will find will be either a GS ski or a true mogul ski.

TS
obercski

obercski

In the parking lot (formerly "At the base lodge")
Skier
Yeah. The twister is a mogul ski and the Rissingol Hero is a GS.

But do they ski the same as the straights?

The Folsom’s seem to be there own u inquest thing. Where straights would have advanced to if given the chance.

cantunamunch

Meh
Skier
The Folsom’s seem to be there own u inquest thing. Where straights would have advanced to if given the chance.