• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Proper ski length

beantownace

Booting up
Skier
Hello Pusgki community,

I know that there are a number of factors when choosing the correct ski length weight, height, ability, terrain etc. Curious of thoughts on this. I am on the shorter size 5" 5" male approx. 150lbs. I have been skiing in a 163cm for a few years and comfortable at that size and my ability. I am looking at a ski that only comes in a 158cm and a 166cm so thinking about going with the 158cm really like the ski. I am a strong intermediate skier mostly piste groomers can ski the blacks but not carving on edge all the time longer turns overall. The 163cm Salomon is over my head and the 158cm comes right about close to the top of my head with boots on. Any thoughts would you think the 158cm although shorter than what I am skiing with now is still a good option?

François Pugh

Skiing the powder
Skier
Great White North (Eastern side currently)
Brand and model of skis (the one your comfortable with and the one you are thinking of getting) is a required bit of information, before an opinion should be formed.
You said SL ski? Can you be more specific.
I will say that if you are primarily on ice and hard pack and don't tend to push the ski out of it's design element (i.e. don't use it as a GS ski), shorter would be better. If you ski it on softer groomers and other soft snow, longer might be better.

TS
B

beantownace

Booting up
Skier
Brand and model of skis (the one your comfortable with and the one you are thinking of getting) is a required bit of information, before an opinion should be formed.
You said SL ski? Can you be more specific.
I will say that if you are primarily on ice and hard pack and don't tend to push the ski out of it's design element (i.e. don't use it as a GS ski), shorter would be better. If you ski it on softer groomers and other soft snow, longer might be better.