• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Race Tuning Equipment

chairliftrider

In the parking lot (formerly "At the base lodge")
Skier
Hi all! I'm new to ski racing, and I have very limited knowledge on racing tuning equipment.

I have basic tuning equipment at my home (bench, ski vise, iron, and that's it), but I barely do the tuning work myself. I sent my race skis to a ski shop a couple weeks ago and realized the race tuning could cost a lot $$$. I found lots of information online (race place, tognar, and etc), and I found I probably need to buy a lot of new equipments. I'd like to ask what are some most essential equipments for tuning race skis, any product specific recommendation?

Thank you!

tube77

Getting on the lift
Skier
fixed angle file guide for base (1, 0.7, 0.5)
fixed angle file guide for side (88, 87)
diamond stone - mid, coarse
chrome file - mid, coarse
file clamp
gummy stone
brush - horse hair, nylon, brass
wax scraper - plastic (or + metal)
brake retainer
side wall planer
brass brush

and ...

whole bunch...

TS
C

chairliftrider

Skier
file clamp
gummy stone
brake retainer
side wall planer
brass brush

and ...

whole bunch...
Thanks!

NE1

Getting on the lift
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter
file clamp
gummy stone
brake retainer
side wall planer
brass brush

and ...

whole bunch...
I would add a fine diamond stone for polishing to this list of basics...

breck

Getting on the lift
Skier
errr...what is the budget?

I am trying a RazrTune $700 for side edge maintenance. It is $300 for some nice guides and file/diamond stones, seems like a better deal overall but no. I think the RazrTune will result in sharper skis given the amount of effort I am willing to commit as a 1-3 day/week masters racer.

Get a digital iron for waxing, pain to deal with a silly dial. $150??

Breck

Swede

Making fresh tracks
Skier
Hi all! I'm new to ski racing, and I have very limited knowledge on racing tuning equipment.