• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Ratte Edge Tuner

Mp29

Putting on skis
Skier
I'm new to the world of ski tuning and thanks to my racer daughter am diving in head first. I've always wanted to tune my own skis and my family's so excited to go on this journey. I want to get the best possible gear starting out and just master it. The first purchase I'm targeting is an edge tuning machine. I want world cup quality and don't want to sound pompous but I'm willing to pay for the best. I've looked at Snowglide which looks awesome and has great US presence and support but I want this to be something my daughter will learn to use and can travel with for race prep, the downside of the Snowglide appears to be the dust generation so I'm curious about the Ratte machines which have dust collection and while there are a couple posts about them I can find very little information online about them. I'd greatly appreciate any feedback on these units and if anyone has experience or info on the Ratte and can either set me straight I'd be eternally greatful! This ski tuning business is interesting, many seem to guard their secrets in the race realm and don't want to give too much info.

James

Out There
Instructor
What do you mean by “World Cup quality”?
Quality of the edge or the power tool?

Maybe @Primoz or @Swiss Toni knows the status of this Ratte machine.
I would run the other way, or go to Italy and try to get one. Then you’ll spend significant time just dealing with a machine no one else has. That’s a significant disadvantage, not an advantage.

Likely you could get your own 120V 60hz power supply, the motor is probably 12V or 24.

How old is your daughter? Is she experienced with hand tools or power tools? All those machines are big. You’re likely better off with a battery Razor tune. Especially for portability.