• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Recommended ski width for Breckenridge?

kwahoo

Booting up
Skier
My son and I are going to Breck in a week. We live in the Mid-Atlantic region and mostly ski at Snowshoe, so we have narrow-ish skis. Mine are 84 underfoot, his are 80. We mostly ski blacks ("east coast blacks") such as Cupp and Shay's at Snowshoe. It seems like the general consensus for skiing in Colorado is not to bother bringing such narrow skis, and instead to demo some wider skis. Rental shops in the area have an overwhelming array of choices. I spent some time researching my skis recently, and ended up with the Völkl Deacon 84, but looking at wider skis, I feel like a complete noob.

Any suggestions on a range of widths to consider? We'll probably spend a fair amount of time on groomed runs, and want to be able to carve, but it seems like they get enough snow that even these may have reasonable amounts of powder, and we want to be able to ski areas that aren't groomed. As best I can tell from some research, something in the 105-115 range might be suitable, but I don't have much confidence. Also, any advice on what kind of rocker/camber profile is best?

If I can find a ski that also works reasonably well in east-coast goopy slush we get in warm weather (like right now at Snowshoe), I might end up buying, because then I could use them in both places. I don't know if that's a reasonable thing to aim for.

Thanks!
--Kevin

Last edited:

tomahawkins

Making fresh tracks
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter
I just got done skiing an area that gets way more snow than Breck and I was on 71s. I’d say bring your narrow skis (they’re not that narrow) and rent wider if you get a lot of snow. Deacon 84s are a darn good Colorado ski. But if you WANT to buy new skis, that’s another story.

Tytlynz64

Getting off the lift
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter