• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Returning skier, aspiring ski instructor, looking for advice on gear

TooNice

In the parking lot (formerly "At the base lodge")
Skier
Hi everyone!

I am a snowboard instructor, aiming to obtain basic (NZSIA L1) ski instructor licence this season to become more versatile.

I've skied 6 seasons as a kid but that was so long ago I am just going to assume that I am going to have to start off again as a beginner again.

At the time, I was using whatever equipment my school would lend me, so I never had my own gear or learned anything about the gear, so I am hoping to get some expert advice here :)

The first thing I would like to ask is about boots. I am a guy, with small but wide feet measuring 24cm, and after plenty of trial and error and pain, find that for snowboard boots I need boots that are not only have a wider toebox, but also measure 24.5cm. 24cm simply doesn't work.

1. As far as snowboard boots go, most men's boots start at 25cm and above (and even when the manufacturer make smaller size, retailers may not stock them), so I often end up buying stiffer women's boots. Is this something I would need to deal with when it comes to ski boots? And if so, I have a question about flex. Is a 100 rated boot for men the same as a 100 rated boot for women when it comes to skis assuming they are from the same manufacturer? (I am asking this because in snowboard they aren't, given equal rating, women's boots tend to be softer)