• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Road Bike Pedals?

coskigirl

Skiing the powder
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter
I’ve been riding SPD-SL pedals since 2009ish but I need new shoes so considering new pedals as well. Looking at Speedplays but open to suggestions. I am not a lightweight cyclist so they need to be hardy in that respect.

tch

What do I know; I'm just some guy on the internet.
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter
I have been a Look fan for a long time. For me, easier to get into/out of, and I really like the fact that the pedal provides much more of a platform for the foot than either SPD or Speedplay. Some users of Speedplay have said that they can feel like "pedaling on a walnut". I don't have personal experience, and YMMV, obviously.
And...they are carried in almost every store/catalog so getting cleats, etc. is easy.

babanff

Out on the slopes
Industry Insider
Ditto on Look. Can’t pretend I’ve used anything otherwise on my roadie to compare to, but I have incredibly sensitive soles and the larger platform seems to prevent hotspots on long rides (which I sometimes get with the spds on my mtb). Cleats seem to wear out quick, but whatever, they’re cheap. And I guess if you’re the type that needs a double-sided pedal you might not like them.

luliski

Making fresh tracks
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter
Also a fan of Look pedals (I have the KEO). The large platform makes them much more comfortable for me than SPD pedals.

Reactions: Ron
TS
coskigirl

coskigirl

Skiing the powder
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter
The Look Keo doesn’t look that different than the SPD-SL which are very different than SPD. I’ll have to look into the advantages of the Looks.

cantunamunch

Meh
Skier
The Look Keo doesn’t look that different than the SPD-SL which are very different than SPD.

They're both massively popular derivatives of the old Look Delta - meaning you can get cleats and screws at just about any bike shop.