• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

School me on Skins

Ron

Seeking the next best ski
SkiTalk Tester
I am finally able to get on an AT setup and I need some help with skins. I am setting up 2 pairs of skis with Shifts, A Renoun Citadel 185 (136-106-126) and a Praxis Protest 187 (138-128-132). I have done some research and it seems like a Mohair/nylon blend is a good way to go but Im a newb. Trying to find something now that's on sale. These looked like they might be a decent option https://www.backcountry.com/backcountry-x-black-diamond-momix-skin

pais alto

me encanta el país alto
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter
Those are very good skins. To size them I go with whatever is closest to the width of the ski tail. I’d go with the 125s for your Renouns and 140s for the Praxis, though if you wanted to save a few bucks 125s would work fine on the Praxis.

I use the BD mix skins a lot and am very happy with them, but if you want to nerd out with a pretty comprehensive overview:

Mothertucker

Sweep Dodger
Skier
With the Scala tip and rockered Praxis it should be fine, if in doubt, shoot G3 an email. I think they ship a G3 skin cutter with each pair too, easy trim.

Reactions: Ron

pais alto

me encanta el país alto
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter
Sure. When you’re skinning, the traction comes predominately from underfoot and the tail. 4 mm of bare base/edge on either side of the forward part will not affect your traction. In fact, you can get away with more bare base on the front part than that, and it saves a little weight. That’s why I buy skins sized for the tail measurement.

TS
Ron

Ron

SkiTalk Tester
In my reading , I found a few comments about G3's working better in higher moisture content snow than BD's. Any truth to that? I think UT and CO snow is pretty similar. (although don't quote me for admitting this :) )

TS
Ron

Ron

SkiTalk Tester