• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

gwgardner128

In the parking lot (formerly "At the base lodge")
Skier
Hey everyone! I am a student at Lehigh University studying business and entrepreneurship. For one of my classes I've been tasked with creating a solution to one of the biggest problems in skiing, ACL injuries. Personally I ski a lot so I definitely have my own opinions on how it could be done, but I was interested to see what you guys think. I'm aware of knee bindings, but have heard a lot of complaints about them, and think there could be a better alternative. Is there any other things that I should look into? Also, if you have a minute and could fill out this survey (takes literally 30 seconds) it would be really helpful for my project. https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/QN3JMXH
Thanks!

jmeb

Enjoys skiing.
Skier
Start reading everything you can by Rick Howell.

I'd recommend this article and the entire, dense, comment thread. https://www.wildsnow.com/15123/tech-binding-release-testing-acl-broken-leg/ .

Any "better alternative" to the Knee bindings still fundamentally requires lateral release at the heel to help prevent knee injuries.

The biggest problems with a "ski binding to prevent acl injury" are:

- design
- production
- epidemiological or biomechanical proof that they work.

Marketing ain't the issue.

Ken_R

Living the Dream
Skier
I guess the ideal binding would have lateral and vertical release at both the heel and the toe. I dont think one exists.

BC.

NEPA ShopRat/Skier
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter