• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Skiing equipment purchases that you regret/have regretted

Pacobillie

Putting on skis
Skier
I will start: powder skis. IMHO, they are unnecessary for resort skiing, even on powder days. A 98 mm wide ski can handle any in-bounds powder day anywhere if you are proficient in powder. Snow Cat skiing in bottomless snow is a different story.

Bill Miles

Old Man Groomer Zoomer
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter
Pair of Langes when they first came out. Never fit right, especially in arch of foot, and trying to get them fixed didn't help.

Ogg

Skiing the powder
Skier
My first pair of skis. I was a complete novice and bought a pair of completely hammered Dynastar Vertical Assaults with Marker Demo bindings and whatever boots they were selling with them because my foot fit in them and they didn't hurt.
ETA:Also my 19-20 full Ikon pass that I only got to use 6 days at the JHMR gathering.

James

Out There
Instructor
Never buy used skis unseen unless you know how the owner skis/takes care of skis/tuning history. Skis can be ruined by owners or shops dulling the edges.

Après Skier

Amateur Skier & Professional Curmudgeon
Skier
I once bought a tin of liquid wax to help glide through the sticky-icky spring snow. The wax worked reasonably well on my skis but it made such a mess... ruined one of my favorite jackets.

dovski

Waxing my skis and praying for snow
Skier
Trace GPS Tracker - a gift from my wife that I never ever used - did not even make it out of the packaging. She got it as a surprise so I could track my skiing and thought it would be a killer gift. Then I showed her my Slopes app on my iPhone and things kind of went south from there. Neat concept if it came like 10 years earlier, but unfortunately their tech was outdated before the product even launched. Besides who really wants to glue a hockey puck sized device to their skis.

markojp

mtn rep for the gear on my feet
Industry Insider