• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Stockli laser SC vs Volkl RaceTiger SC Black

EMill99

Booting up
Skier
Hey new board mermber here. A little background, I am a level 1 Ski Instructor (5'8, 170lbs) in PA and am working on improving my technical skiing, sticking to piste/groomed eastern US hills. I still have some flaws but practicing as much as possible to get better. Currently skiiing on Stockli Laser AX 168 and really feel that these skis have helped me. I am going to be taking my Level 2 exam next year and want to spend the remainder of 2023 ski season getting into a more race-oriented ski. Being that I love my AX, I am toying with the Laser SC or the Volkl RaceTigers in a shorter length, probably 156ish. Are these a good jump or should I take the entire leap and go to a WRT or RaceTiger SL? I'm sure I left some important info out but hopefully this is a good start.

Thanks---Eric

Last edited:

Paul Frede

Getting on the lift
Industry Insider
The Racetiger SC is a very easy and forgiving ski so I think it would be a great instructor ski to work on technical skills with out having to ski too fast for work too hard.

TS
EMill99

EMill99

Booting up
Skier
Shoot for the stars and get WRT Pro. It is only painful when you are paying for them.
These are what the AX turn into when a beautiful princess kisses them. :ogbiggrin: :ogbiggrin:
Thanks! So just take the leap to the race ski. Any thoughts on taking the level 2 exam on race skis?

Tony Storaro

Glorified Tobogganer
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter
Thanks! So just take the leap to the race ski. Any thoughts on taking the level 2 exam on race skis?

WRTs are not race ski. They are just damn good ski for everyone whose name doesnt start with Marco and ends in Odermatt. And who is not a beginner/intermediate.
If you want them slalom-y, get the 162.
I went from AX to WRT never to look back.

TS
EMill99

EMill99

Booting up
Skier