• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Tips / Drills / Advice for keeping weight forward...

RelaxedNinja

Booting up
Skier
...in the front of my boots? This is what I've heard or read quite often: that I need to press forward into the front of my boots so I can maintain control of the skis.

As a beginner, I have to remind myself of this often because I forget, or more likely sit back in apprehension when I'm not comfortable or confident.

Is it true that I should be doing this 100% of the time? When turning and shifting weight, it's especially difficult to maintain this forward lean into my boots.

Am I misunderstanding the application of this advice? Is it just repetition over time which solves it?

Thanks.

scott43

So much better than a pro
Skier
The "oh shit" handles are out front. When you're in trouble, reaching forward for the handles is the move you want. Beginners lock-up and sit back when they get in trouble and that leads to loss of control. Don't push your heels out, lean into the shins and use the front of the skis to pivot around. There are great instructors on here that can provide more accurate details than I can. But yes, sitting back means losing control, exactly the opposite of what you want. Complete turns across the fall line mean control. Don't lock-up and straight line. Make complete turns.

dbostedo

Asst. Gathermeister
Contributor
SkiTalk Supporter
Is it true that I should be doing this 100% of the time?
No, you shouldn't be forcefully pressing into the boot tongues 100% of the time. But you should be in balance and able to press forward when you need to. A good way to think of it is to try to have your shins touching the boot tongues much of the time. But that's not perfect either, and tongue pressure comes and goes throughout turns. But if you aren't in balance and are sitting back you'll find it hard to be able to have shin/tongue contact as you turn.