• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Unofficial Guide: Mammoth Mountain, CA

Jim Kenney

Travel Correspondent
Team Gathermeister
Contributor
SkiTalk Supporter
Unofficial Guide: Mammoth Mountain, CA
By Jim Kenney
October 11, 2022

This isn't a true unofficial guide, but more of a glorified trip report from April 15-18, 2022 when I skied four consecutive days at Mammoth Mountain. It was my first ever visit there, so take what I'm about to present with a grain of salt. I caught some fine conditions and was able to ski a good sample of the mountain.

Overview

It took me a long time to make my first visit to Mammoth. I've been skiing throughout North America for 55 years. It's a bit of an enigmatic mountain in that it's big enough to be a destination resort for all-comers from around the world, but instead functions more like a weekend retreat for Soouthern California (SoCal) natives. With this report I'll try to give a decent overview of the expansive terrain at Mammoth (3,100' vertical, 3,500 skiable acres) and share some of my favorite photos from my visit. Days 1, 3 and 4 were sunny with excellent skiing. Day 2 was windy with about 8" new wet snow, but visibility was poor and most of the lifts on the mountain were closed.

wholly mccoy station 15 apr.jpg
There's a life-sized replica of a Woolly Mammoth inside McCoy Station, the mid-mtn lodge at Mammoth, photo by Jim Kenney

My visit to Mammoth started by making a remarkable 550 mile/9 hour drive west from Salt Lake City. It was a super remote route across the Bonneville Salt Flats of northern Utah and through the central Nevada desert. Over 400 miles of the trip was on two lane roads, but the traffic was so light that you could go 70+ MPH much of the way.

lonely rest stop 14 apr.jpg
A rest stop on US 6 west of Ely, NV is beautiful in its desolation, photo by Jim Kenney