• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Which resorts treat their employees the best.

SEE YOU NEXT SEASON

Booting up
Skier
Hi Everyone,
I'm doing a little research for a project about North American ski resorts that have great employee-friendly policies. If anyone wants to nominate a ski town / mountain with abundant affordable housing, free shuttles, employee wellness programs, opportunities for staff progression, great perks, just go for it.
Let's give the good guys in the industry a shout out.
Thanks in Advance,

surfsnowgirl

Instructor
Skier
I am an instructor at Magic in Londonderry, VT and I couldn't be happier.

We are a small but steep mountain area, not a resort. As an instructor I'm thrilled. I work half days so get plenty of time to free ski. They do a great job of rotating the lessons so we all get variety. There's training and clinics and lots of support. I get discounts at the ski shop, tune shop and the cafeteria.

I also am an ambassador at Bromley in Peru and I get a free pass, a good discount in the cafe and the ski shop. We also get a shed to keep our stuff in.

These are small, non fancy non resort places but how I am treated is why I've been there for years.

Ken_R

Living the Dream
Skier
In Colorado... dang, maybe LL and A-Basin and a few of the smaller hills far from the Front Range. This is mostly Vail Resorts country and they have a rep and not a good one...at least in the past.

pchewn

Skiing the powder
Skier
I worked at Timberline Lodge (Mt Hood, Oregon) last season. Overall, I think they treat their employees pretty well. e.g. Surprise bonus coupon book mid-season with transferrable lift, lesson, rental, lodging coupons. With express permission to sell the coupons. And other benefits (pass, gift-shop discounts, free lunch, pass exchange, shuttle, etc). The actual work did not suit me (ski instruction), but the ski area does treat employees well.