• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Bruno Schull

Getting off the lift
Skier
Hi.

I looking for beginner carving skis with a catch.

The catch is that 1) I'm relatively tall, heavy, and athletic, and I suspect that many beginner carving skis might not be supportive enough for me, and 2) It's not fair to say that I am a complete beginner. I am a beginner at carving, but I can ski fairly competently on and off piste.

Regarding the first point, I am 44 tears old, 6' 4" tall, and weigh 205 pounds. I'm athletic, and do lots of training of different kinds. I think I've been able to ski as well as I have (not to say that I'm any good) as a result of general fitness and leg strength, rather than specific ski technique.

Regarding the second point, I've been skiing about 15 years, 15-30 days per year. I live in Europe, and ski in the Alps. I can ski on all the pistes, steep, icy, black runs, whatever. I've been working a lot on skiing off piste, and can ski off piste in almost all conditions, except breakable crust, which is still hard, if not impossible for me. I love powder skiing, and am getting better. I also ski tour, nothing extreme, but I like to get into the back country. Finally, I sometimes use my touring skis to access alpine or ice climbs in the mountains, so sometimes I have to ski with a heavy pack, tired legs, on glaciers, and so on. I would say that I can ski effectively or functionally in decent conditions, if not beautifully and skillfully. In difficult conditions I struggle, but I do OK.

In all this time, I have never learned how to carve. I slash or slarve almost all my turns. Another way to say that is that I have never really leaned how to ski correctly. I am sure I have a whole range of bad habits. I can get down the mountain, and I have fun, but I could probably be a lot more efficient, controlled, and safe.