• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Colorado Breckenridge Recommendations

MikeW Philly

Getting off the lift
Skier
So my wife and I had a turn in life, that now has us looking at a ski trip, mid-January, for relaxation. A lot of our planned next targets off list for various reasons and I’ve more or less settled in on Denver and have essentially set on Breck which I’ve never done before. The mountain has a lot of what we look for - ski in (thinking beaver run at the moment), fair amount of blue for her and some decent fun stuff for me like the north bowl and some of the just below extreme runs.

this trip has literally come up in last 24 hours, looking at Jan 10-15 and still trying to figure o it a few things.
  • Rentals, bringing the new stockli AR for two of the days I’ll be skiing with my wife but one day I’ll likely rent for a solo day. Is Christy the place to go? it seems to be but unlike Alpine can’t seem to find what brands they carry.
  • Ski instructor recommendations? Actually would truly appreciate multiple for this as we’ll have on instructor over 3 days for my wife but I was thinking about one for my self on the day I sneak out.
We are planning to ski mid-week, so crowds should not be an issue. Probably renting a car as expensive as it is doesn’t seem to be to much more over other options. We have one day down i between the 3 days, anything else non-ski related we should think about?

Jim Kenney

Travel Correspondent
Team Gathermeister
Contributor
SkiTalk Supporter
Breck can be great in January and your dates should be good for modest crowds on all the terrain that interests you. Here's a report on a visit I made to the area in Jan 2020:

So this is a four day visit?