• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Kbat117

Doing snow dances
Skier
So I'm getting ready to buy some boots and have spent lots of time trying boots on, learning about my feet, and deciding whats right for me

Because I'm a poor highschool student and I'm buying my own boots, I don't have a lot of money to buy and get them fitted from a boot fitter or a good shop. So I will be purchasing my boots at a local ski swap most likely. My question then is, can I heat molding my liners/shells (assuming the boot works with that) on my own at home or is that something I need to have a shop do? Just don't want to wreck an expensive purchase.

Rod9301

Making fresh tracks
Skier
You can mold the liners yourself.
I like the rice method. Put rice in an old sock, microwave it for 2-3 minutes, and put it in the liner. After 6-7 minutes, the liner should be soft, out your foot in it, in the boot, tighten it and stand for 12 minutes.

Best to search on this, there are probably videos as well.

Easy.

I simplified it, so read up

TS
Kbat117

Kbat117

Doing snow dances
Skier
Ok, just needed some confirmation because the guy at the shop today told me they will probably not if I do it myself yet YouTube tells me different :)

otto

Out on the slopes
Masterfit Bootfitter
First of to the OP's question...
can I heat molding my liners/shells (assuming the boot works with that) on my own at home or is that something I need to have a shop do? Just don't want to wreck an expensive purchase.

If the liner is heat moldable, then you could follow a tutorial and attempt to mold them yourself. Based on your age and knowledge level of ski boot fitting, in my opinion you would be money ahead if you bought the correct size boot at a swap and then had a real boot fitter help you to fine tune the fit.

crgildart

Gravity Slave
Skier