• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Manufacturer vs Fitter vs Customer Fault

Fred_K

Booting up
Skier
I went into a boot fitter for a new boot, tried on many different boots and after selecting (during the same sitting within a couple hours) salomon shift pro 120, the fitter modified for my foot resulting in a crack as seen below in the image. The fitter said this boot has different materials at this location on the boot. "we could either glue it, or get a new boot". I am an engineer and pointed out that the interface between different materials results in more likelihood of cracking as there are stress concentration, and asked about getting a different boot (manufacturer/model) and the fitter said no.

As you might see in the below image, the wall thickness of the boot changes at the red mark.

Is the manufacturer responsible? Fitter? Customer?

I left the boots behind, paying for them, but am uncomfortable with using this boot with mods needed due to my foot width.

What should I, as a customer do?

Thanks for any thoughts

crack_image.png

TS
F

Fred_K

Booting up
Skier
Get a new boot.
Thanks for the reply, Philpug. I don't even want this model as if I take ownership, and come back later to have it pushed back out again, then it's on me if it cracks. I'm saying that this manufacturer/model is not designed to be heated/pushed as it's susceptible to cracking. Are you a boot fitter? Would you be comfortable working with this manufacturer/model?

Andy Mink

Everyone loves spring skiing but not in January
SkiTalk Tester
SkiTalk Supporter
I'm not sure I'm understanding. This is a brand new boot, never skied? The fitter did something, I'm guessing heated and punched, and now there's a crack? I wouldn't pay, and I certainly wouldn't accept the boot in that condition. I'd also probably find another fitter unless they refund you and get a different boot.

Last edited:
TS
F

Fred_K

Booting up
Skier