• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Your voice is *better* for sound location - and here's why.

Tricia

The Velvet Hammer
Admin
SkiTalk Tester
This is fascinating but I'm trying to figure out the context as it relates to the biking area.
Can you give some context?

TS
cantunamunch

cantunamunch

Meh
Skier
This is fascinating but I'm trying to figure out the context as it relates to the biking area.
Can you give some context?

Bike bells ring - and constitute the sort of sound that the brain has trouble *reliably* direction finding.

No one has a voice that can say 'passing', 'on your left' or 'coming through' without variation in tone. Therefore the voice is better than a bell.

There were posts on this issue here.

And @AmyPJ posted similar sentiment here.

Last edited:

Tom K.

Skier Ordinaire
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter
I have an embarrassing quiver of bicycles. Only one is without a bell, and I've been riding it lately and notice that people respond more accurately to my voice. No confused gazing around in multiple directions like I often see when using a bell, especially in the woods.

Makes me wonder if just saying "ding ding" is the best bell in many circumstances?!

But I tend to only do that when I actually see somebody on the trail. With the bell, I ring it for darn near every blind corner.

Andy Mink

Everyone loves spring skiing but not in January
SkiTalk Tester
SkiTalk Supporter
I think the good part about a bell, at least the Timber Bell, is it rings fairly constantly as long as the surface is bumpy like in most mtb riding. Other bells require you to *see* the other person then ring the bell. At least with the Timber Bell someone may be looking to see where it's coming from. Going around a blind corner and seeing someone last second isn't enough time to give warning.

Andy Mink

SkiTalk Tester
SkiTalk Supporter