• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Look Pivot 12s

robertc3

Out on the slopes
Skier
I need some bindings for my new Moment Wildcat 108s. I have been using Look SPX bindings for the last 8 years and I have really liked them. I did break the track on the heel piece one, probably from too many heavy landings. All of my family uses some flavor of Look and has for years. I am sure I would be happy to just put some SPX on the new skis, but if you have ever been to TGR you know that Pivots are everyone's favorite binding. I don't need a 15 or 18 binding because despite my skiing style and size I don't set my DIN above 8.5. If I am blowing out of my skis at a 8.5 there is something wrong with my skiing. I was thinking the Pivot 12s might be a good choice to get some lateral heel release and greater elastic travel. Does anyone have an experience with the Pivots, especially the 12? I could go to the 14 or 15 if there was a compelling reason to do so, but it isn't because I will ever set my DIN to 13.

Philpug

Notorious P.U.G.
Admin
SkiTalk Tester
When you are buiying a better binding, you aren't usually buying jsut a spring or a number in a window (the Pivot 12 and 14 are the same binding, just a bigger spring in the 14), but you are buying a better housing, thus a better coupling from the boot to the ski. There is a significant difference going from the 12 to the 15 in

I was thinking the Pivot 12s might be a good choice to get some lateral heel release....
Note, the Pivot does NOT have lateral release from the heel, it rotates from the heel for a smoother toe release.

TS
robertc3

robertc3

Out on the slopes
Skier
Thanks, Phil. Digging deeper I see the toe piece is completely different between the 12 and 15. That is the kind of difference I was talking about, but I didn't see it on first inspection. I see that I misinterpreted the marketing "rotates around the tibia". That is great to understand better.

TS
robertc3