• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Neck pain from mountain biking

breck

Getting on the lift
Skier
Greetings,
I am a novice mountain biker messing about on snow mobile trails and access roads. Using an entry level Trek Mamba with hard tail, front shocks, large frame. I am 6' 2", 59 years old, 205 lbs, reasonable fitness.
No fit has been done for me and the bike.
My neck has been getting sore like I slept wrong and just has a crick that can hurt pretty badly in various dimensions.
My guess is that the angle of constantly looking up to see down trail from a hunched position is the source of the trouble.
Any pointers on how to reduce this strain? So far I am trying:
  • Load the handle bars less
  • Keep my back straight instead of hunching
Is this a matter of sorting things out with time? I have been at this for 2 months with periods of daily rides 20 min to 1 hr (10 in a row) with down times of a week or more.

Is it time to go see a doc?

thanks

Breck

skibob

Skiing the powder
Skier
Greetings,
I am a novice mountain biker messing about on snow mobile trails and access roads. Using an entry level Trek Mamba with hard tail, front shocks, large frame. I am 6' 2", 59 years old, 205 lbs, reasonable fitness.
No fit has been done for me and the bike.
My neck has been getting sore like I slept wrong and just has a crick that can hurt pretty badly in various dimensions.
My guess is that the angle of constantly looking up to see down trail from a hunched position is the source of the trouble.
Any pointers on how to reduce this strain? So far I am trying:
  • Load the handle bars less
  • Keep my back straight instead of hunching
Is this a matter of sorting things out with time? I have been at this for 2 months with periods of daily rides 20 min to 1 hr (10 in a row) with down times of a week or more.

Is it time to go see a doc?

thanks

Breck