• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

New Skis for Ice Coast Frontside

laurelerin22

Booting up
Skier
Hi all!

I need to purchase a new pair of skis after 13 years skiing on my current pair a few times per year. I'm so lost and I'm also having a hard time finding a place to demo any. I live in metro-NYC area and typically travel to Catskills, western MA, VT, or NH to ski. I've been skiing since I was 2 years old but I typically don't do the level of skiing that I'm capable of these days, because I'm hauling my kids around on the greens and blues.

That being said, my current skis are a pair of 2009 Atomic Heaven's Gate, which are higher-end carvers. They've always served me well - tight turns, snappy, fun on groomers and carvers - with the drawbacks being that they take crud and bumps hard and sometimes I feel like they don't hold on ice very well. They have a 78mm waist, but I feel like all the recommendations I'm finding for "all mountain" or even "frontside" are ranging in the 80-90mm range these days, which I've never skied on. The more I read, the more it seems like a narrower ski is better for where I'm typically skiing. The Blizzard Black Pearl 88 and the Nordica Santa Ana 88 come up repeatedly as some of the best recommendations, but they seem so much wider than what I'm used to. I'm hoping to demo one of those pairs this weekend, but we'll see.