• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Planning a ski trip after Christmas, Park City or Vail Town?

Rookie Diana

Booting up
Skier
My new snowboarding gear arrived recently and I'm ready to give myself a break after Christmas - which is better for snowboarding, Park City or Vail Town? (I'm a snowboarding rookie)

Attachments

• photo_2022-11-29_11-34-43.jpg
    photo_2022-11-29_11-34-43.jpg
    183.3 KB · Views: 8
Last edited:

Jim Kenney

Travel Correspondent
Team Gathermeister
Contributor
SkiTalk Supporter
Hope you have a great time. Both are fine and very popular spots for a great vacation on and off the slopes. I'm a skier and don't have the greatest ability to convert to snowboard mindset to judge ease of accessing and traversing terrain. I'd have a hard time rating the two, especially for intermediate and expert snowboarders who are going to cover a lot of ground. Of course skilled boarders can get around anywhere they want!

PC and Vail are both huge and I expect would have good beginner terrain if that's what you're looking for. At Park City there is a nice mellow trail pod on the Canyons side of the resort above the Red Pine Gondola. Served by High Meadow and Saddleback chairs. You'd download on the gondola afterwards to avoid more challenging terrain. That's a scenic area with relatively good snow quality because it's high on the mtn. Whereas, most beginner areas at ski areas are located at the base of the mountains where things are busier and snow is not as good. There is also a high elevation beginners area at Vail called Practice Parkway near the top of the Eagles Nest chair. I'm sure they'd take care of you there too. If you have an Epic Pass go to both:yahoo:

Last edited:

Prosper

This is the way.
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter