• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Womens intermediate carver recommendations

late4gates

Pride comes before a fall.
Skier
Looking for a carving ski for my wife who is a confident intermediate. She probably doesn’t need much of a top end. On piste 100%, Blue and Green only. She currently skis Black Pearl 97s but finds them a bit stiff and heavy. This would be a 2SQ choice where she would prefer to stay on the carver as much as possible before going back to the BP just for heavier stuff (we’re Inland Northwest, so it happens).

I’ve been looking at the Wild Belle 84 and the Total Joy. Also the Phoenix R13 CA if I can convince her to ski the BPs more (still open).
Anyway, all advice very welcome, thanks.

Andy Mink

Everyone loves spring skiing but not in January
SkiTalk Tester
SkiTalk Supporter
TS
late4gates

late4gates

Skier
5 ft 5 1/2 inches. She’s probably average weight for her height, but I’m not an expert on these things.

AlexisLD

Getting off the lift
Skier
Looking for a carving ski for my wife who is a confident intermediate. She probably doesn’t need much of a top end. On piste 100%, Blue and Green only. She currently skis Black Pearl 97s but finds them a bit stiff and heavy. This would be a 2SQ choice where she would prefer to stay on the carver as much as possible before going back to the BP just for heavier stuff (we’re Inland Northwest, so it happens).
What length/year of skis is she currently using?

Prosper

This is the way.
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter
Sierra.com has the Liberty V76W 165cm for a screaming deal at $199 and the V82W 165cm for a very good $299. Both have been very positively reviewed and I think @Tricia especially likes the V76W. I think either would be a good choice for your wife. I ski the V76 (non W version) in 165cm and really love it.

AlexisLD

Getting off the lift
Skier
2020 or 2021 (can’t remember) Black Pearl 97 @ 153 (short). She’d probably go for a 156ish.